COMMITTEES

Committees

International Programs Committee

The primary purpose of the International Programs Committee is to review and recommend for approval the of Cal Poly international, for-credit study programs. This includes an evaluation of the mode of instruction and academic standards of each program, taking into account the international context and appropriate learning outcomes. Budgetary oversight, as well as the review of health and safety considerations, are outside of the primary functions of this committee, though taken into consideration in assessing the general strength of program proposals. The committee will evaluate the co-curricular elements and the overall merit of program proposals/reviews to ensure they meet Cal Poly, CSU and international education industry standards. The committee provides advice to faculty members, departments, and colleges proposing for-credit study abroad opportunities for Cal Poly students and establishes guidelines for these programs. This committee will review new program proposals as well as existing programs on a rotating basis to facilitate and support the growth of excellent international study programs that meet and enhance the strategic needs of the institution.

Membership 2018-19

Name Department Phone Email
Jessica Carson Academic Programs & Planning 756-2326 carson@calpoly.edu
Yiwen Chiu College of Agriculture, Food and Environment Sciences, Natural Resources Management & Environmental Sciences 756-2972 yichiu@calpoly.edu
Ahmed Deif College of Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering 756-1213 adeif@calpoly.edu
Krista Kauffmann College of Liberal Arts, English 756-1257 kjkauffm@calpoly.edu
Scott Kelting College of Architecture & Environmental Design, Construction Management 756-6315 skelting@calpoly.edu
Gary Laver College of Liberal Arts, Psychology: Child Development 756-2538 glaver@calpoly.edu
Josh Machamer
Chair
College of Liberal Arts, Theater & Dance; Chair, GE Governance Board 756-5560 jmachame@calpoly.edu
Nathaniel Martinez College of Science & Math, Biological Sciences 756-2185 nmarti32@calpoly.edu
Ruby Moz Registrar's Representative 756-5756 rmoz@calpoly.edu
Bing Qu College of Engineering, Civil & Environment Engineering 756-5645 bqu@calpoly.edu
Cari Vanderkar (ex officio) Director
Cal Poly International Center
756-2945 civander@calpoly.edu
Back to top

International Advisory Council

The primary functions of the International Advisory Council (IAC) are to inform and support the Director of the International Center in the formation and implementation of a comprehensive internationalization strategy for Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, and to assist in providing better coordination of international engagement across campus and within the local community.

Membership 2018-19

Name Position Phone Email
Tom Bensky
Chair
College of Science & Mathematics
Physics
756-7655 tbensky@calpoly.edu
Bridget Benson
Past Vice Chair
College of Engineering, Electrical Engineering
Academic Council for International Programs Representative
756-5738 bbenson@calpoly.edu
Charles Chadwell
Vice Chair
College of Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering 756-5738 chadwell@calpoly.edu
Javier de la Fuente Orfalea College of Business
Industrial Technology
756-1607 jdelafue@calpoly.edu
Margot McDonald
Past Chair
College of Architecture & Environmental Design
Architecture
756-1298 mmcdonal@calpoly.edu
Beth Merritt Miller Staff At-Large
Assistant Vice Provost for University Advising
756-5759 bamerrit@calpoly.edu
Jeta Rudi Polloshka College of Agriculture, Food and Environment Sciences
Agribusiness
756-5021 jrudi@calpoly.edu
John Thompson Faculty At-Large
College of Liberal Arts, World Languages & Culture
756-1212 jjthomps@calpoly.edu
Roxana Tunc Staff At-Large
Assistant Director for International Recruitment & Admission
756-5824 rtunc@calpoly.edu
Cari Vanderkar (ex officio) Director
Cal Poly International Center
756-2945 civander@calpoly.edu
Ning Zhang Faculty At-Large
College of Liberal Arts, Political Science
756-2960 nizhang@calpoly.edu
Back to top

Global Health & Safety Committee Contact List

Contact List: 2018-19

Name Title Phone Email
24 Hour Line University Police (805) 756-2281 police@calpoly.edu
George Hughes University Police Chief (805) 756-6650 grhughes@calpoly.edu
Kathleen McMahon Dean of Students (805) 756-0327 kmcmah02@calpoly.edu
Judy Mitchell Assoc. Dir., International
Students & Scholars
(805) 756-5837 jumitche@calpoly.edu
Sara Otis Study Abroad Coordinator
(Global Programs)
(805) 756-7321 sotis@calpoly.edu
Monica Schechter Assoc. Dir., Study Abroad (805) 756-5964 mschect@calpoly.edu
Cari Vandekar, Ph.D Director, Cal Poly
International Center
(805) 756-2945
(805) 756-1477
civander@calpoly.edu
Dru Zachmeyer Assistant VP for Strategic
Business Support Services
(805) 756-6473 dzachmey@calpoly.edu
Dean of Students
On Call - after hours
Dean of Students (805) 821-1262 deanofstudents@calpoly.edu
Back to top

As needed:

Name Title Phone Email
Nayree Barnett Study Abroad Advisor (805) 756-7331 nbarne01@calpoly.edu
Victor Brancart Assoc. VP Admin Finance (805) 756-7416 vbrancar@calpoly.edu
Brian Gnandt Director Equal Opportunity /
Title IX Coordinator
(805) 756-1400 bgnandt@calpoly.edu
David Groom Assistant Dean of Students for OSRR (805) 756-2794 dgroom@calpoly.edu
Keith Humphrey Vice President for Student
Affairs
(805) 756-1521 humphrey@calpoly.edu
Erica Jorgensen Study Abroad Advisor (805) 756-6179 ejorgens@calpoly.edu
Genie Kim Director of Wellbeing
& Health Education
(805) 756-6181 gkim23@calpoly.edu
Matt Lazier Director of Media Relations (805) 756-7109 mlazier@calpoly.edu
Chuck Petranek International Trip Advisor (805) 756-1411 cpetrane@calpoly.edu
Patricia Ponce University Ombuds (805) 756-1380 pponce@calpoly.edu
Geneva Reynaga-Abiko Director of Counseling
Services
(805) 756-2511 greynaga@calpoly.edu
Kyle Rowen University Counsel (805) 756-5530 counsel@calpoly.edu
Brian Tietje Vice Provost International,
Graduate & Extended Ed
(805) 756-1757 btietje@calpoly.edu

Organizations:

Name Description Web Address
U.S. Embassy for Appropriate Country Public announcements or travel warnings http://travel.state.gov
Center for Disease Control & Prevention Medical emergency or disease outbreak http://www.cdc.gov
Back to top